Skip to main content

another award!

Nora-bearski got ANOTHER award a few weeks ago! This time, she got the Sensational Sockeye Award. (Sockeyes are the school mascot). The award is for students who demonstrate respectful, responsible, safe and caring choices. The reward is a certificate, a special lunch with some teachers and her picture up on the "big screen" during Wednesday lunch. 

I was surprised about all these awards because a) she can get into her fair of trouble at home and b) I don't remember Evie getting them. Well, we suck because when we asked Evie about it she told us she's gotten Sensational Sockeye 3 times - once in first grade and twice in second grade. That made us feel bad for not celebrating it with her when she got them like we did with Nora. 

The best part of the award so far has been that Nora has mentioned a few times how she tries really hard to be good at school because she wants to beat the other kids and get another award, haha. 


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Happy new year!!

Goodness, it's already 2025! It's been a really long time since we posted!  We had a very lazy new year. We flew back from LA on the evening of the 31st so spent the last remaining hours of 2024 cozying up on the couch and then fell asleep before it even hit midnight! On New Years day, we slept in, cleaned up the house and then did a quick hike the next day. All in all, a good start to the year! Nora's new blanket hoodie. Cold and muddy trails. We're not in LA anymore! We hiked the Primrose trail that follows Coal Creek.  

1 week checkup

We took Nora to her one week check up today and guess what? We have a porker on our hands! She weighed in at a whopping 6 lbs. 5.5 oz. That's 2.5 oz more than her birth weight! They want the baby to be back at birth weight within 2 weeks so she beat that milestone pretty handily. Hooray! So far, she's been better than Evie at eating (she doesn't take nearly as long, although she falls asleep VERY often) but she's not as good as Evie at pooping. Poor thing always seems to have tummy issues - she's very squirmy and fussy when she doesn't burp or poop. The doc doesn't think it's a big problem though since she still has lots of wet diapers, but we'll have to keep a better eye on it now. We'll have another doctor check up (with shots!) next week.

Trick or Treat!

Halloween this year was the quietest one we've had in 13 years! This was the first one we had without the girls! Both of them went to friends houses and left Scott and I to man the door. It was very quiet at home because the doorbell rang only 4x the entire night, but at least both girls said they had a lot of fun despite it being rainy and dreary out. Thankfully, they have finally learned to not trust Seattle weather in October and chose warm(ish) costumes!