Skip to main content

Strawberries coming out of our ears!

It's just starting to get warm here so that means it's berry picking time! Actually, we are at the tail end of strawberry season and I was actually trying to go pick raspberries and blackberries but when we got to the farm, they told us that nope, UPICK today is strawberries only! Raspberries and blackberries were only available for purchase at the farmstand. That was okay by me since I've never gone strawberry picking before, and the kids didn't know different so they jumped right in and starting getting their hands dirty.

Considering what a big field it was, I think they probably could have social distances all of us a bit further apart than just every other row. No matter though, it ended up being ok, as you can see in the pics. 

We ended up picking NINE pounds of strawberries, and we probably ate another pound out on the field! I was afraid I wouldn't know what to do with all those berries but guess what? They are almost gone! We took a few to make a berry tart, took some more to make strawberry jam, froze some others, and now we're down to our last few berries. 

I think it was fun in general, but to be honest, maybe not really worth the 45 minute drive. 


A little dusty, a little low.
She kept claiming every other strawberry to be the PERFECT one.
This one is pretty good!

Our haul

Strawberry hands

SO MANY strawberries!
For dinner, we rolled our own sushi.

Nora declared it was the best dinner ever.
 
My first attempt ever at a berry tart!

Nora helped me decorate.

My no-sugar or pectin added strawberry jam was pretty good.

Comments

  1. I'm so jealous! We love strawberries here! But oh man, nine pounds of strawberries would be gone in a heartbeat here. We often get a flat or half-flat at the Farmer's Market and eat them on their own, and they're usually all gone within a few days. Still, I bet eating them warm from the sun and freshly picked would be awesome!

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Happy new year!!

Goodness, it's already 2025! It's been a really long time since we posted!  We had a very lazy new year. We flew back from LA on the evening of the 31st so spent the last remaining hours of 2024 cozying up on the couch and then fell asleep before it even hit midnight! On New Years day, we slept in, cleaned up the house and then did a quick hike the next day. All in all, a good start to the year! Nora's new blanket hoodie. Cold and muddy trails. We're not in LA anymore! We hiked the Primrose trail that follows Coal Creek.  

1 week checkup

We took Nora to her one week check up today and guess what? We have a porker on our hands! She weighed in at a whopping 6 lbs. 5.5 oz. That's 2.5 oz more than her birth weight! They want the baby to be back at birth weight within 2 weeks so she beat that milestone pretty handily. Hooray! So far, she's been better than Evie at eating (she doesn't take nearly as long, although she falls asleep VERY often) but she's not as good as Evie at pooping. Poor thing always seems to have tummy issues - she's very squirmy and fussy when she doesn't burp or poop. The doc doesn't think it's a big problem though since she still has lots of wet diapers, but we'll have to keep a better eye on it now. We'll have another doctor check up (with shots!) next week.

Trick or Treat!

Halloween this year was the quietest one we've had in 13 years! This was the first one we had without the girls! Both of them went to friends houses and left Scott and I to man the door. It was very quiet at home because the doorbell rang only 4x the entire night, but at least both girls said they had a lot of fun despite it being rainy and dreary out. Thankfully, they have finally learned to not trust Seattle weather in October and chose warm(ish) costumes!