Skip to main content

Happy 4th of July!

Hope you all had a nice Fourth of July! 

We had a low key weekend since Evie was sick for a good chunk of it, and Scott wanted to get in shape for his upcoming Seattle-to-Portland ride. 

I found out last minute on Saturday that there was fireworks in Issaquah so Nora and I rushed down to see if we can find a good spot to watch. We went to this little park along the waterfront that I've never been to before - it's a narrow stretch of woods in between two neighborhoods and was surprisingly spooky when we walked through in the twilight hours. Nora was clutching my hand and I made sure to sing loudly to scare away any animals! When we got to the beachfront, there were only a handful of other folks there so we spread out a towel to sit on the ground and got a nice view of the fireworks show. The walk back to the car was a little easier since we followed another family through the trail and didn't feel so alone. Nora said that she loved our adventure and would go again next year.

Flash is so bright!!

View of the lake at sunset.

Fireworks show.


On Sunday, we spent the afternoon along the Middle Fork Snoqualamie River. Scott got to fish, Nora played in the water, and Evie and I read our books. It was nice.

Bridge over the river. While we were standing here, my had flew off!

Scott to the resuce!

Really pretty views.

The beautiful trail hugged the river.

Lastly, here's a picture of the kid's "seacuterie" board that we had yesterday with dinner:


 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Happy new year!!

Goodness, it's already 2025! It's been a really long time since we posted!  We had a very lazy new year. We flew back from LA on the evening of the 31st so spent the last remaining hours of 2024 cozying up on the couch and then fell asleep before it even hit midnight! On New Years day, we slept in, cleaned up the house and then did a quick hike the next day. All in all, a good start to the year! Nora's new blanket hoodie. Cold and muddy trails. We're not in LA anymore! We hiked the Primrose trail that follows Coal Creek.  

1 week checkup

We took Nora to her one week check up today and guess what? We have a porker on our hands! She weighed in at a whopping 6 lbs. 5.5 oz. That's 2.5 oz more than her birth weight! They want the baby to be back at birth weight within 2 weeks so she beat that milestone pretty handily. Hooray! So far, she's been better than Evie at eating (she doesn't take nearly as long, although she falls asleep VERY often) but she's not as good as Evie at pooping. Poor thing always seems to have tummy issues - she's very squirmy and fussy when she doesn't burp or poop. The doc doesn't think it's a big problem though since she still has lots of wet diapers, but we'll have to keep a better eye on it now. We'll have another doctor check up (with shots!) next week.

Trick or Treat!

Halloween this year was the quietest one we've had in 13 years! This was the first one we had without the girls! Both of them went to friends houses and left Scott and I to man the door. It was very quiet at home because the doorbell rang only 4x the entire night, but at least both girls said they had a lot of fun despite it being rainy and dreary out. Thankfully, they have finally learned to not trust Seattle weather in October and chose warm(ish) costumes!